top of page

Forming one's Identity as a bi cultural American


Mexicali-Calexico Border

Although being a bi cultural American is a great opportunity, it also brings a lot of conflict in the way young Latinos try to identify their identity. As stated in the article “Young Latinos: Born in the U.S.A., carving their own identity” by Suzanne Gamboa, Sandra Lilley, and Sarah Cahlan they speak of how those who are young bi cultural Americans face many controversies when trying to identify themselves in both communities. 

As a bi cultural American who lives in a border town, I can connect with what the article states on trying to identify myself in both communities. Growing up I was taught that while I was at school I was only allowed to speak English due to the fact that it was the “language of the U.S.”. Yet, once I would get home I was to speak Spanish due to how it was disrespectful to talk a language that my dad does not understand. 

In the article they state how not only does language influence the way bi cultural Americans are viewed but also by the skin color they have. Not only do these factors affect the way they are viewed by Americans but also by their other Hispanic Americans as well. As a young Latina who lives in a border town, I was able to identify myself with when the article states “They also spoke of having to explain their identity not just in their U.S. neighborhoods, but in their parents’ home countries, to family members who questioned their accents or status based on their U.S. experience” (Gamboa et al). 

Although majority of my family lives in Mexicali - a city in the state of Baja California in Mexico - which is on the other side of the border, I still find myself with the need to prove that I am Mexican as well. Not only based on how I have a lighter complexion but also on the slight accent I have when speaking Spanish, they tend to call me a “gringa” or an airhead as well. 

As a bi cultural American, it is not only difficult to prove one’s identity as a Mexican, but also to their connection with the American identity. Living in a border town has lead me to face the judgments from both Mexican and Americans. While in Mexico I am being judged for being a “gringa” and speaking English and living in the U.S., I face the same judgment in the U.S. because I still have a different accent to those who are more fluent in English. This sense of feeling judged tends to leave us young Hispanics question our own identity and in which culture we belong. 

Yet although being bi cultural leaves us questioning our own identities, it is also a form of opportunity and empowerment given to us. Not only are we able to speak English but also the beautiful language of Spanish, and it also allows us to experience both the American and Mexican culture first-hand. As stated in the article, being bi cultural Americans has allowed “For many young Hispanics, navigating their parents’ culture in the U.S. has shaped their views on what it means to be American” (Gamboa et. al).   

References:

"Young Latinos: Born in the U.S.A., carving their own identity” 

Story by Suzanne Gamboa, Sandra Lilley, and Sarah Cahlan

Photograph by Al Jazeera 

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page